

Dr. Laxman Singh Rathore is former Director General of Meteorology, India Meteorological Department (IMD), Ministry of Earth Sciences. I served various international bodies such as:

- Chair, (Acting 2016-19) Inter-governmental Board for Climate Services (IBCS), WMO, United Nations (UN)
- Vice-Chair, (2012-16) IBCS, WMO
- Permanent Representative (Ambassador) of India with the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), United Nations
- Member, Executive council WMO, UN
- Vice President, Commission for Agriculture Meteorology, WMO
- Chairman, Governing Council, SAARC Meteorological Research Centre, Dhaka
- Scientific Member, 3rd Indian Scientific Expedition to Antarctica (1983-84) and established the first permanent Indian station

Made significant contribution towards improving the weather & climate prediction, particularly extreme weather events. He played a lead role in development of Agrometeorological Advisory Service in India.

Published more than 100 research papers, wrote 11 books and 41 book chapters and participated in. He has co-supervised 5 Ph.D. students from reputed institution such as Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi; Guru Jambheshwar University, Hisar; Andhra University, Vishakhapattanam and Banares Hindu University, Varanasi.

Former President and Fellow of Indian Meteorological Society and President as well as Honorary Fellow of Association of Agro-Meteorologists. He is recipient of over a dozen national awards for his contribution in the area of meteorology and service to the society.

Current Engagements;

- National Vice President, Vigyan Bharti
- President, Society for Rural Improvement
- Chairman, South Asia Forum on Agrometeorology
- Trustee. Raiput Education Trust
- Independent Director, Aristo Biotech and Life Sciences Ltd.
- Member, Advisory Committee, National Disaster Management Authority, GOI
- President, Vigyan Bharti, Jaipur, Rajasthan
- Member, Research Council CSIR-National Institute of Science Communication and Policy Research, Ministry of Science & Technology, GOI.
- Member, Appeal Committee, National Agricultural Education Accreditation Board, ICAR

- Chairman, Research Advisory Committee, Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, Ministry of Earth Sciences, GOI.
- Member, Governing Council, Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, Ministry of Earth Sciences, GOI.
- Member, Board of School, Earth Sciences, Central University Rajasthan
- Member, Governing Council, International Institute of Waste Management
- Chairman, Rajasthani Sabadkosh Digitization Samiti
- Chairman, Centre for Environment and Development Studies, Jaipur, Rajasthan
- Member, Advisory Committee, South Asia Meteorological Association